Science Lesson 38 & 39 – French Baguettes!

In these lessons I made a set of threeingrediants_small French Baguettes! It started using these ingredients: salt (2 1/2 tsp), water (1/4 cup for yeast to dissolve in – another 2 to make the dough), the yeast (I used a little packet of yeast), a pound of flour (about two and a half cups), and a bit extra flour to put on my hands and the cutting/rolling/folding board.  I used up a good half – day (a half-night, actually) and a bit of patience.  First I put the yeast into the 1/4 cup of water, and let that rest for about twenty minutes.  While that dissolved,  I got the flour ready, and poured in the two and a quarter teaspoons of salt.  then I waited about ten minutes more, and then put the water & yeast into it.  I then stirred it around (with the help of mom the great) and then when it became too hard to stir anymore, I reached in and got real covered in the dough from kneading mixing_small  it without the flour on my hands, and it wouldn’t come off, so I washed my hands and it came off as easy as you can say apple pie.  Then I was like, “Mom?  I think I need some flour on my hands.”  She said okay, so off I went in folding again, and this time I came prepared.   About ten minutes later, I was back in the kitchen to put it in a bowl to let it rise three times what it was at the moment (it took three hours)  and then did it again after deflating it (squishing it together again), so I ended up with a nice texture.  I then put it on a cutting board and folded it in thirds.  I let this sit for three minutes, and then rolled it into baguettes.  Then I lifted it onto a baking sheet and  slit it.  This turned bagette2_smallout nicely, and I had a nice set of baguettes that were slitted and ready for the oven.  

After I had it slitted, I put it in the oven for 45 minutes and then mom put a tray of water in the bottom of the oven, and sent me to bed.  At the time it was bagette6_smallmidnight.  Then, six hours later, I was up and on my crutches, and I went to check on the baguettes.  One failed, and was hard as a rock.  Two actually made it,  and were edible.  This was quite the learning experience!bagette8_small

Leave a Reply

