Three Annoying Smoothies – Science lesson 29 – Another Set of Failures

The troublesome trio of smoothies – Berry Blue Smoothie, Blueberry Mint Smoothie, and Strawberry Daydream Smoothie.  In the making of each one, I made at least one mistake.  For the Berry Blue, I was supposed to put in  1 cup blueberries or purple grapes, 2 Tbsp. acai or blackcurrant powder (or blackberries), 800 ml (27 fl. oz.) of nut or seed milk (example: almond milk), 1-2 Tbsp. maple syrup (optional), 2 semi-frozen bananas, 1/2 avocado, and the seeds of one vanilla pod.  I accidentally put in too much blackberries and it turned out too blackberry-tasting, and I then didn’t like it, so our guests drank it, and they liked it.  For the Blueberry Mint smoothie I put in too much mint, and I was supposed to put in 1 cup frozen blueberries, 1 frozen banana (peeled before frozen), 1 cup spinach, 1 cup apple juice, ½ cup pineapple chunks, and ¼ cup fresh mint.  That one was too minty, and again, our guests liked and drank them.  When I made the Strawberry Daydream, they were not there (thank goodness they weren’t!), and I accidentally forgot to cap the strawberries, simply dropped the strawberries in the blender, and blended the ingredients, which were  2 cups strawberries, 2 nectarines, 1 mango, 1 banana, ½ cup fresh lemon balm or basil, and 1 cup water.  While I did that, mom asked me if I’d capped the strawberries, and I said, “Whoops.  I forgot to do that.”  It was then that I noticed that I’d forgotten the caps.  And mom started laughing so hard she was crying, and I nearly burst into tears because I thought that she was laughing at me.  Later on, however, she said that she thought that I was cute when I said the line. She said that she understood that since we had been putting so many leaves in that I forgot about the strawberry leaves (when it happened I was actually thinking about the spinach leaves that I had put in the Blueberry Mint Smoothie the day before) and put them in.  These three smoothies were super annoying!

Leave a Reply

