Orange and Onion – Science Lesson 25

What is sweet, yet sour, white, but orange, and tasty, not disgusting – Orange and Onion Salad.  Since Oranges and Onions are in the same botanical family, they make a terrific set when it comes to fulfilling the requirements above.  with some olive oil and black pepper thrown in, it’s an excellent meal, and simple to make.

All I need is one orange, one onion, a couple pinches of black pepper, 1/4 cup of olive oil, and a plate.  First of all, I peel the orange by cutting off the stem, crosswise with the orange. Second, I stick my nail right between the orange part and the white stuff between the orange parts.  Then I simply rip off the outer rind of the orange, and get the white stuff, too.  Then I do the same with the onion.  Then I’ll cut off the other end on both.  Now I’m ready to cut them into slices, which I will do.  All right, since I have the slices, I’ll push the four center rings out of the center of the onion slices, and start splitting the bigger rings out of each other.  Once I have that all done, I lay out the onion rings over and under the orange slices, splatter with oil, and sprinkle the pepper on. Then it’s done!  This delicious meal is healthy, colorful, and tasty.

Leave a Reply

